Q & A: Camden Filtness

Camden Filtness is a young, up-and-coming actor from Vancouver, British Columbia. After graduating college he has been busy taking part in several motion capture roles, along with starring in two mini series. His most recent role will be in the Hallmark original series, When Calls the Heart. I was able to speak with Camden about his life as an actor and his upcoming projects.

What inspired you to become an actor?

First of all, just wanted to thank you and all the Hearties for the support so far! I hope you’re enjoying the season so far, and I can’t wait for you to see what’s next!¬†

Though I grew up dreaming of being a doctor, an astronaut, or even a crime scene investigator, it was in grade eleven that I discovered my love of acting. My first ever on-stage performance was as Juliet from “Romeo & Juliet” in “The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)”. I never thought I’d ever enjoy performing in front of an audience as I was always shy growing up. But, several years later, and it’s my full time job! I loved the ability to connect with an audience, and share stories with them.

10489683_666351206747569_1827032438510050019_n.jpg

Where did you receive your training?

After high school, I received training at Capilano University in North Vancouver. I took a three-year program called “Acting for Stage and Screen”. It was here that I learned a massive amount of skills that I still use today!

What was your first role? How was that experience? What has been your favorite role you’ve had so far?

My first role on a professional set was as ‘Nurse Mike’ in Untold Stories of the ER. I got to assist with several medical procedures on the show, and had a blast. I remember going to bed that night and thinking, “this is what I want to spend the rest of my life doing.” So far, my favourite role has been my character on When Calls the Heart. It was a very exciting experience, and my first major booking for TV!

Can you tell us more about your motion capture work? Maybe just explain what that is for anyone who is unfamiliar and the sort of training you have to go through for it. 

One of the main things I do as an actor is motion capture. It is basically a way to bring animation to life by wearing a skin tight suit with sensors on it, then connecting the actors movement to a digital character. Or, for people who have seen Lord of the Rings, it’s how Gollum was brought to life! I have had to do a ton of training for motion capture. It is the most physically demanding thing I have had to do throughout my whole career, and you need a lot of skills to be able to take on any character. More often than not, I’ll play aliens, robots, monsters, and animals. Which makes flexibility, balance, and strength essential. I also am a certified actor-combatant through “Fight Directors Canada”. This means that I am able to do my own fight scenes in movies and on TV, and it gives me a lot of freedom with motion capture using weapons.

I read on your website that you also write your own material. Can you tell us more about that? What genre does your writing focus on or what genre are you drawn to?

I do write my own material, though not as often as I’d like! I mainly focus on comedy, and action. I find it so fun to write jokes and fight scenes. It lets my imagination run wild! I’m currently working on a webseries and a short film, but unfortunately can’t tell you any more than that.

14581567_1047952025254150_4664244596275883128_n.jpg

What other hobbies do you have outside of acting?

Besides acting, I really enjoy exercising, and playing sports. Downtown Vancouver has so many activities and clubs, it’s impossible NOT to find something to do every day! If the weather is nice enough, you can usually find me running around the Seawall, a beautiful run along the water in Vancouver. I also enjoy playing video games… a little too much for me to admit!

You’re obviously young, do you have any advice for other young people trying to pursue a career in acting?

When I was still in high school, a successful actor asked me what I wanted to be when I graduated. I said “an actor!” He warned me how difficult it was, and said to do something else with my life. I took this to heart, and knew going into University that I’d have to work extra hard if I ever wanted to be successful. I’ve done just that, and that’s the best advice I can give. Just keep working hard, and it’ll eventually happen! You can do anything you want to do!

How did you land your role on When Calls the Heart? What was it like going into a well established show with such a strong fan base?

I had auditioned for several characters throughout the years, but it just seemed like I wasn’t a good fit for any of them. When my role came around to casting, I remember thinking to myself, “I can nail this audition!” Sure enough, it went well, and the rest is history! One of the scariest things being an actor is going into a big show with a lot of fans. You know how important it is to not let them down, and to do your best! However, the #Hearties have already been a dream come true, and are supporting me every day! Thanks everyone!!

17192295_720472701447000_7103402295037279554_o.jpg

Without giving anything away, what can you tell us about your character? Or if you could describe your character in 5 words, what would they be?

You’ll find out soon enough (five words, hehe)

Are you working on any other projects you can mention?

Unfortunately I can’t mention anything yet, but later in March, I’ll give you an update and tell you about two that I have worked on!

And for a more fun question, what would be your dream role?

I think my dream role would be playing a superhero! I’ve always loved comics and video games. I think it’d be a great fit with my passions! Also, who doesn’t want a super suit of their own?

Not only is Camden talented in acting and motion capture work, but he also enjoys writing his own material. It’s refreshing to see a young person who is so motivated and is willing to work hard to accomplish their goals and dreams. I look forward to seeing where his career will take him, as I am sure he has a very bright future! In terms of When Calls the Heart, I think we are all excited to see what his character will bring to Hope Valley. As of right now, all we know is that he is a mountie who will be somehow working with Jack. What do you think Hearties? Make sure to keep an eye out for my update with Camden after he makes his first appearance on When Calls the Heart. Make sure to stay up-to-date with everything Camden is doing by following him on all his social media accounts:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/camdenf

Instagram: http://instagram.com/camdenf

*Photo Credit to Camden and Hallmark Channel

Leave a Reply

