Q & A: Carter Evancic

At only ten years old, Carter Evancic has appeared on several TV shows and movies such as Her Infidelity and The Man in the High Castle. He is best known for his role playing Cody, an orphan who finds his way to Hope Valley, in When Calls the Heart. I was able to speak with Carter about his experience playing Cody, what he enjoys doing outside of acting, and his upcoming projects.

What inspired you to go into acting?

Carter: Well, it was mainly my sister that inspired me to go into acting because she started out. And then my sister and parents thought I might try it, so then I started going into classes and then ten months later I booked a lead role in a movie!

Which movie was that?

Carter: Her Infidelity, which Loretta Walsh was also in.

That’s right! Did you start with commercials at all, or just straight into movies?

Carter: Just straight into the movie and then everything after that were TV shows.

C6DgeISU0AAi0uW.jpg

How did you get the role of Cody?

Well I started off with auditioning for it. And then I came out and I was feeling pretty good and then I got called back for a callback. I felt a lot better because then I had more time to go over my lines, and all that. And then I found out that I booked it and I went crazy!

I know a lot of the Hearties loved meeting you at the reunion. So what was it like for you to come into a show that had such a strong and passionate fan base?

Carter: Well when I first came in, I was just like “Ok. New people. It’s another experience.” But the people there are great and the hearties are almost the ones that keep the show going, because without all the fans there pretty much wouldn’t be a show. They’re awesome!

So what’s it like working with so many other great, young actors? It’s clear that you all are very close, so what’s it like working with everyone?

Carter: It’s great working with the kids because they’re really like real friends. And you can see them almost whenever you want to on set. And it’s also great working with the adults because they’re all just great to work with and they’re also great role models too.

I am sure you spend a lot of time with Lori Loughlin. What is it like working with her in particular?

Carter: Well she’s a great actor, and like I said she’s also a great role model. But she’s also great to have as a friend. She really keeps you going!

MV5BMjE3ODkzMDQ0N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTc3Njk0ODE@._V1_SY1000_SX1500_AL_.jpg

So Cody comes into the show with quite the backstory. He’s very troubled and he has some very powerful scenes. The one that always sticks out to me is when he’s having to say goodbye to Abigail when his Aunt is about to take him and Becky away. How do you prepare for those really powerful and emotional scenes?

Carter: Well for the emotion, I think of something really sad that could happen or that has happened. Sometimes the people that I am working with they can also help me get into that emotional state, to just feel like really sad and not feeling good at all about it and all that emotion.

What would you say has been your most difficult and most fun scenes to film?

Carter: My most difficult scene to film would probably be doing the emotional scenes, because they’re just so heartfelt and kind of hard to get into that emotional state. The most fun scene I’ve done, I don’t want to give anything away or any spoilers. So probably the school scenes because you’re with all your friends there. And it feels like a real home when you’re there!

I know you can’t give anything away, but is there anything you can say about what we can expect to see for Cody this season?

Carter: Well, in this season for Cody you’re going to see a lot of emotion. You’re going to see him get really sad and angry. And fight for someone!

So tell me, how does your schooling work on set?

Carter: I have a tutor along with all the other kids, but it’s just one tutor for all of us. And when we have like twenty minutes of spare time when we’re not working we go to tutoring and we do all our work there.

Do you have a favorite subject?

Carter: Favorite subject would be math!

Oh no! I hate math!

Carter: Yeah my sister is like that. (Laughs)

You’re nominated for a Young Entertainer Award. Congratulations!

Carter: Thank you!

How does that feel? Is this your first?

Carter: So far I’ve been nominated for three, a Young Artist Award, a Young Entertainer Award, and a Joey Award. I already went to the Joey Awards. But the ones coming up I am really excited for! My family and I are going to LA on vacation to attend the Young Entertainer Awards.

MV5BMTUxNTcxNjY4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTE2NjYyODE@._V1_.jpg

Alright, let’s do some more fun questions! What do you like to do in your free time?

Carter: I like to go on my iPad. I like to play lacrosse, make things out of paper and Lego, and I like to play basketball sometimes.

So do you play baseball at all or is that just Cody?

Carter: That’s just Cody. (Laughs)

What is your all time favorite movie?

Carter: My favorite movie that I’ve watched might be Star Wars. But one of the movies I really want to watch is called Monster Trucks. There’s a monster that people are trying to hunt down, but it really likes hiding in the teenagers trucks. So basically it’s like taking out the innards of a truck and putting a monster inside and it controls the car.

If you could be in any movie what would it be?

Carter: Hm. What movie have I always wanted to be in? Oh, Home Alone!

Yes! Those are the greatest movies! I can’t go a Christmas season without watching them!

Carter: Yeah same with my whole family!

Finally, do you have any new projects coming up you can tell us about?

Carter: Well right now I am just working on When Calls the Heart, but I think I might end up working on another show that I was on called Men in the High Castle. Otherwise, I don’t know anything that far out yet.

It was such a pleasure speaking with Carter. He carries himself with a great sense of maturity and has a great head on his shoulders.  It’s very encouraging to see talented young actors who remain grounded in such a tough industry. His sweet demeanor and positive attitude are extremely refreshing. We even found out that we share the same birthday! It’s clear that this talented, young man has a very bright future ahead of him and I look forward to seeing his career blossom. You can see Carter on When Calls the Heart, which airs Sunday nights 9/8c. Make sure to keep up-to-date with Carter by following him on his social media accounts:

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/CEvancic

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/carterryan4175/

*Photo credit to Hallmark Channel and Carter’s Twitter

 

3 thoughts on “Q & A: Carter Evancic

Leave a Reply

