A Desire to Bring Back the Traditional

I recently sat down to watch Anne of Green Gables with my mom. For months she had been telling me that we should watch it together, and we finally got to it. For anyone who is unfamiliar, Anne of Green Gables is a film trilogy first released in 1985 set in the Victorian era. The story focuses on Anne Shirley, a young orphan with a wild imagination. She finds herself taken into the care of Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, brother and sister, who live on Prince Edward Island. She quickly becomes best friends with Diana Barry, and catches the eye of the town heartthrob, Gilbert Blythe. The films follow her life, how she discovers her path, and finds herself along the way.

IMG_4226.JPG

As we were watching, I kept thinking to myself why there aren’t more shows like this on TV today. Of course, I was also thinking about how much I would love to travel on horse and buggy, but in all seriousness, why are these sorts of shows missing today? It has become harder and harder to find shows that allow the entire family to sit down together and enjoy. When my parents were children, the family would sit down together and watch shows like Anne of Green Gables or Little House on the Prairie. Nowadays, everyone is separated watching their own shows they enjoy. Each member of the family may have their own TV in their rooms, so they rarely come together.

Not only are we missing family friendly shows, but we are missing shows that express morals, values, and God’s word. I understand that not everyone is religious or may have different beliefs. That’s completely fine. I am talking more about those of us who yearn to see Christian values being expressed on shows again. Those of us who yearn to have shows fill our hearts will love, hope, and faith. The media has such a strong impact on all of us, and sometimes I feel like we don’t even notice their influence in our lives anymore.

I am so happy that I found a show like When Calls the Heart, because it has filled my heart with love. Don’t get me wrong, there are still plenty of other shows I enjoy that are not considered family friendly. However, I have noticed that none of them give me as much joy as I receive while watching shows like When Calls the Heart and the other classics I have mentioned. I find myself just smiling the entire time. TV shows and entertainment in general are great distractions from the stress we face in our daily lives. They allow us to escape from the real world for a little bit and immerse ourselves into a different world. I think that’s why everyone loves TV shows. However, shows that allow you to dive into another world, while inspiring you to be better, are the ones that are worth while. The ones that provide real life messages of love, kindness, and faith are the ones we need more of. I am grateful for channels like Hallmark, that provide their audience with this sort of programming. Even though I am 21 years old, I find myself more connected to the ways of the past. I hope that there are more like me that will help bring these sorts of shows and ideas back to our television screens.

2 thoughts on “A Desire to Bring Back the Traditional

Leave a Reply

